Scholarships and Awards

The following scholarships and awards are given annually to majors in the department of journalism. Students are eligible to apply after their first year. Applicants are considered on the basis of academic performance, dedication to journalism, merit and financial aid.

The Joseph E. Nettles Scholarship
This scholarship was established in 1982 as a memorial to legendary Richmond journalism professor Joseph E. Nettles by one of his former students, Paul Duke, a well-known journalist and now retired television news show moderator. Nettles started the journalism program at Richmond and taught in the program for more than 30 years. The scholarship grows each year. Some years the scholarship goes to one student; other years it may be divided among as many as six students.

The David E. Howard Journalism Scholarship
The David E. Howard Journalism Scholarship was established by family and friends in memory of David E. Howard, R’77. This endowed scholarship is awarded annually to an outstanding journalism major who has demonstrated the passion, curiosity, and journalistic integrity for which Howard was known. Howard's short career encompassed both print and broadcast journalism. As a high school student, he was the news director for WTSL, a radio station in Lebanon, N.H. He also served as an on-air news anchor for WNNE-TV in Hanover, N.H. He rose to editor-in-chief of The Collegian as a junior and interned at the Richmond Times-Dispatch, where he worked as a senior and continued as a full time reporter after graduating. He died of a brain aneurysm in October 1977.